Chez Meme Baguette Bistro

The weather in Vancouver has been crazy lately–random snow, random rain, sudden bouts of sunshine. On Tuesday morning I woke up to snow piling up on my windowsill (with my cat alternately gazing out at it and slapping me in the face with her tail). But it would take more than snow for us to bail on food! So Samantha, Yvonne, Darek, and I met up at Chez Meme Baguette Bistro on Hastings St. for breakfast.

It’s a small place, with less than ten tables, and only one waitress was on duty. Still, she was very friendly (and authentically French!) At times the service was slow, but it was friendly and attentive enough that I wasn’t annoyed.

Darek ordered a coffee to go along with his breakfast. He wasn’t exactly descriptive when I asked how it was. (ie. “How’s your coffee?” “It’s good.”) But he did comment that it was not too strong and not too weak. I liked how the cream was served on the side, although Samantha did comment that this way, the cream would just be sitting out for a while, not being used. Ah well. Also I was a bit troubled by the not-too-clean surface of the coffee cup–I realize it’s just one waitress, but still.

Sam went for the Forestiere Omelet. All their omelets come with potatoes as well as freshly toasted baguette. The baguette was crispy and a nice compliment to the other items. I really liked the potatoes–they weren’t greasy at all like normal hash browns. I believe they’d been boiled and then pan-fried. Sam’s omelette consisted of assorted mushrooms (she could taste shiitake and button) as well as herbs. It tasted very earthy (well, mushrooms)–not much to say about this except that there were no complaints!

Yvonne chose the Montagnarde Omelet, with the same accompaniments. Her omelet was my favourite of the three that we ordered, and consisted of black forest ham, onions, potatoes, and Raclette cheese. You could really taste the cheese, which I liked. The potatoes and baguette were, again, excellent, although I guess her baguette was a little more burnt than Samantha’s. Still, it was a well-executed breakfast, with a good balance of flavours. Nothing was too salty. I love all the ingredients in this omelet (ham, onion, potatoes…what’s not to love?) so I enjoyed it (well, the bits she let me eat off her plate).

Darek had the Chevre Omelet, which consists of goat cheese, tomatoes, and pistou, which is a cold sauce made from garlic and olive oil (similar to pesto, I think). Like the Montagnarde above, you could really taste the cheese in this one. If you’re a fan of goat cheese (which Darek is), you’ll enjoy this. I’m not so keen on goat cheese but I still found it savoury and delicious, with a great compliment of flavours. Not much else to say about this–well, in Darek’s words, “it was good”.

I’ve never been much of an omelet person, so I went for something a little different in the French Toast Brioche. (Also, the man at the table beside us was having it and it looked delicious.) I chose to have warm banana slices and maple syrup (the other options being fresh strawberries and caramelized apple-raisins, respectively). This was definitely an overload of sweet. The brioche was soft and spongy. As long as I got a balanced forkful (some of the fresh whipped cream, warm gooey banana, and brioche in each bite) it was delicious. Although I’m usually not a fan of overly sweet food, I still managed to eat quite a bit of this. I also liked the presentation (powdered sugar!) of this as well as the other dishes.

We enjoyed our breakfast here, but if you’re planning a visit, you should keep in mind that it’s a very small place. Apparently the lineup gets quite long around 11am (we saw no lineup, but then again, it was snowing that day), so you might want to consider that as well. The service is slow but friendly, and the food takes a while, but I personally don’t mind waiting for good food. Next time I’ll have to try their sandwiches and soup!

Chez Meme Baguette Bistro
4016 Hastings Street
Burnaby, BC

Chez Meme Baguette Bistro on Urbanspoon

7 Comments on “Chez Meme Baguette Bistro”

  1. I love breakfast food! Those omelets look soooooo good.

  2. hanzpiao says:

    definitely my new go-to breakfast joint in the neighbourhood. my favourite is the braised lamb sandwich

  3. Karl says:

    Gotta agree with hanzpiao. The lamb is superb and Burnaby has got a lot of really solid spots. Better and better all the time.

    • inhyee says:

      Haha I wasn’t trying to put Burnaby down! There are a lot of great places, some people tend to assume it’s not quite up to par because it’s a suburb. There are great places in Coquitlam too, you just have to always be on the lookout!


Leave a Reply

