Baxter’s

Following Monica Ali’s Brick Lane, the second of our class presentations revolved around Sarah Waters’s 2002 novel Fingersmith. I never considered myself a huge fan of Victorian novels, since the sheer length of the books always deterred me from reading them. Still, one book that will always remain close to my heart is Dickens’s Great Expectations. I don’t know what it is about that book, but something about the complex plot and Pip’s unrequited love for Estella set against the backdrop of industrial London is simply so memorable. In any case, Fingersmith reminded me a great deal of Great Expectations, but of course with a modern twist. I guess “twist” is the key word when it comes to Fingersmith

Luckily enough, Fingersmith is largely set in the Borough, which was a quick walk from our accommodations. We had the chance to walk down Lant Street, which figures prominently in the novel, and was also the home of Charles Dickens. Once we were done exploring the world of Fingersmith, we were set loose in the Borough Market to procure our lunches.

DSCN0726

The market is situated right beside Southwark Cathedral. I think that the thing that most struck me about London, and Europe in general, is just how old everything is. Living in Vancouver, everything is relatively new, while in London, you can still see remnants of Roman architecture, which is just astounding. The idea that you can still casually walk along the street where Dickens used to live just boggled my mind. We visited many churches and cathedrals during our stay in Europe, and the beauty of the buildings is just breathtaking. I’m not a religious person by any means, but I do think that religious buildings are often the most beautiful, whether it be a church or a mosque or a Buddhist temple.

DSCN0729

The Borough Market offers a wide variety of stalls to choose from. After some hopeful wandering, I stopped in front of Baxter’s. I’ve mentioned my affinity for “exotic meats” before, and I’d just realized that I’d never tried wild boar before. Also, I was quite hungry, and it was a dreary, rainy day, and I was in the mood for something warm and filling. Baxter’s appeared to be family-run, and everyone was friendly and helpful when answering my questions.

DSCN0731

I decided on the Wild Boar Sausage (£6), which comes in two sizes: small or large, of which I got the latter. Basically the only difference between the two sizes is whether you get one or two sausages. The sausages come enveloped in a ciabatta bun, accompanied by some arugula (or, as the Brits say, “rocket”) and onions. This was my first time having wild boar, and, as expected, it was quite similar to pork, with a slight gameyness. The sausage itself was meaty, with some chunks of tasty fat and a bit of spice to alleviate the richness of the meat. I would have preferred the bun to have been toasted slightly, as there was nothing special about it, but the sausage was so flavourful that it really didn’t need much. They also added a dash of peppercorn sauce, which just enhanced the flavours. And, of course, the veggies also helped to cut the richness of the sausage. This was definitely one of the most satisfying meals I had in London, especially when eaten outside while ducking to avoid the rain. I also had an Iced Earl Grey Tea from another stall in the market, which was flavoured with a mint leaf and lemon. I liked how the tea wasn’t overly sweetened, which is often the case with iced tea.

DSCN0738After a satisfying meal and a lazy, relaxed afternoon of shopping, we had quite an evening to look forward to: seeing Wicked at the Apollo Victoria Theatre. Despite never having seen the musical itself, I’ve been a fan of the music since the eighth grade, due to some influence from my brother and a couple of friends. So I was incredibly excited to see it for myself. And although I adore listening to the soundtrack from the original Broadway cast, seeing it on stage is just another experience altogether. The two leads were immensely talented, and the plot of the play is just so fast-paced and jam-packed with musical numbers that you never have the chance to feel bored. Out of my three theatre experiences in London (the other two being Pride and Prejudice in Regent’s Park and A Midsummer Night’s Dream at the Rose Theatre), this was by far my favourite.

This is a bit of a digression, but I’ve also read Gregory Maguire’s original novel, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West, off of which the musical is based. The novel’s universe is vastly different from the musical, with the novel delving more into the serious issues briefly explored in the musical. Personally, I enjoy the musical more, as the novel is a bit dense and difficult to understand, but it’s good, although not essential, to have knowledge of both works.

In any case, I realize this post was only minimally about the food, but I just felt the need to recount one of my favourite days that I got to spend in London: a yummy lunch, shopping amid the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street, and then getting to see a musical. What could be better?

Baxter’s
8 Southwark Street
London, UK SE1 1TL

Baxter's Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,292 other followers